Connecting to library resources

When working on campus, you should be able to seamlessly connect to library databases, ejournals, and other resources. If you are off campus (including Banner Health facilities), you'll be prompted to enter your NetID and password to gain access.

View tips on accessing scholarly journals from off campus.

If you have trouble connecting, try these troubleshooting tips or contact us.

UA only

Most of our databases are limited to UA students, faculty, and staff. If you aren't associated with the UA, come to the library to use our resources.

Remote Access from off campus

Most of our licensed electronic databases, journals and ebooks are available from off campus, but must be accessed through our EZproxy software. Emailed or bookmarked URLs do not always include it and may not work off campus. If you are attempting to access content outside of the UA Libraries' website from off campus, there are two options:

  1. Copy and paste the URL into our proxy form to get a link that should work.
  2. Create a bookmarklet in your browser toolbar that will proxy the page you are viewing just by clicking it.
    • To do this, right-click in the browser toolbar. (If this toolbar isn't showing up, press Ctrl+Shift+B to display it.)
    • Then select Add bookmark or Add page, change the name to something you'll recognize (such as Library proxy bookmarklet), and add or replace the text in the URL box with: 
      javascript:void(location.href='http://ezproxy.library.arizona.edu/login?url='+location.href)
    • Save.

Note: proxying the URLs does not provide access to content the UA Libraries has not licensed or purchased.

Virtual Private Network

Many of our databases do not work when using the UA VPN. Use your NetID and password to access the resource from off campus instead.

Maximum users

Some resources have a maximum number of users that can access the resource at one time. This is especially true with ebooks. Wait a few minutes and try to access the resource again.

NetID problems

You won't be able to access resources from off campus if you forgotten your NetID/password or your NetID has been blocked. Contact campus IT if you have NetID questions.

User ID and password requested

You might be asked for a user ID/password (not your NetID) if you try and go to a database directly rather than through the library website. Access the resource from our database list to be properly authenticated with your NetID.

Health Sciences affiliates

UA Health Sciences clinical faculty and Banner employees that are considered UA designated campus colleagues (DCC) can access most UA-licensed information resources by signing in with your UA NetID. If you don't have a UA NetID, create one at UA NetID.

Both the UA and Banner have UpToDate subscriptions. Banner employees (including those who are also UA DCC Affiliates or Associates) must access UpToDate via Banner's UpToDate. Banner employees, COM residents, and fellows can create a personal "UpToDate Anywhere" login via Banner's UpToDate subscription and use that login to access UpToDate from Banner off campus. 

Banner employees that are not DCC affiliates can access UA-licensed resources within the Health Sciences Library and other library locations. Banner-licensed resources are also available at the Banner-UMC locations and via the Banner intranet. 

Banner Health also provides its own library services:

Proxy or web accelerator

You may have trouble accessing library databases if your browser is configured to use a proxy server that isn't on the UA campus, or if you've installed a web accelerator. These can cause you to appear off campus, even when using the campus VPN. Try disabling web accelerator or the use of proxy servers.

Cookies

Your browser must accept cookies to connect to library databases in order to identify you as a valid user. Be sure your browser supports cookies and is enabled to accept them.

For some databases you may need to set your browser to accept third party cookies (in the advanced settings) or add library.arizona.edu to the sites that are always allowed to set cookies.

UA wireless systems

When accessing WiFi on campus, be sure to select UAWiFi. UAGuest WiFi is open to the public, but will not allow you to access most library databases.

JavaScript

JavaScript is required by many library databases. Be sure your browser has JavaScript enabled.

Pop-up blockers

Some databases create pop-up windows to display articles. If your browser or firewall blocks these pop-ups you won't be able to see the article you requested. Enable pop-ups in your browser.

Ad Blockers

Use of ad blockers on devices may prevent databases linked to our website from loading. If you are getting blank pages when attempting to access databases from our list, please either whitelist libguides.library.arizona.edu, or disable the ad blocker.

Adobe Flash

A few databases require Adobe Flash Player to stream video or open image files. Make sure your browser has Adobe Flash enabled and/or download the latest version from Adobe.

EndNote

You may not be able to search library databases using EndNote software. Go to directly to the database you want to search instead and then export citations to EndNote.

Secure connections

A secure connection (SSL) is required to sign in to databases from off-campus. Configure your browser to use SSL.

System date

You may not be able to connect to some databases if your computer's date is set incorrectly. Set the date on your computer to the current date.

Browsers

Sometimes it can help to try a different browser.