We're open!

The Main Library and Weaver Library are open to everyone, including the public. We look forward to seeing you. Learn more.

2020 Willock Award winners announced

Monday, February 3, 2020

Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 Katheryne B. Willock Library Research Award. Each year we present awards of $1,000 each to students who participate in the Student Showcase and write an essay about how the library has supported their research. 

2020 Willock Award winners
From left to right: Eniola Idowu, Vanessa Paravati, Natasha Zake, Monique Davila

History major Monique Davila wrote: "The University of Arizona Libraries Special Collections Reading Room was a magnificent space to conduct archival research. I became familiar with the [staff], including Patricia Ballesteros who always welcomed me with a warm smile. Having encountered such considerate and helpful librarians who assisted me with my research and other needs, I was able to discover results that aided my research."

"I was fortunate enough to attend a training session conducted by Leslie Sult. She introduced me to the different resources available to graduate students," doctoral student Rebecca MacGowan explained. "I was able to affordably download EndNote, an application that has helped me to be considerably more organized. I am grateful to the library for introducing me to such a helpful tool."

PhD student Jinhui Wu said: "I have spent most of my time taking advantage of the resources in the Main Library. The librarians were extremely supportive throughout my research. I especially want to express my gratitude to Ping Situ who kindly offered a lot of help and advice on my research."

Now in its ninth year, this annual award is endowed by the late Katheryne (Kate) Willock, an archaeologist and library advocate. Thank you to our judges Lisa Duncan, Paula Johnson, Jeremiah Paschke-Wood, Yvonne Mery, and Ping Situ.

2020 award winners

  • Graduate students
    • Teresa Davis - Rhetoric, Composition & the Teaching of English
    • Lisa Floran - Public Health
    • Rebecca MacGowan - Management
    • Jinhui Wu - East Asian Studies
  • Undergraduate students
    • Monique Davila - History
    • Natasha Zake - Psychological Sciences (team members: Eniola Idowu, Vanessa Paravati)